Kent Awards 2019

Kent Celebrates the Great!

We are delighted to announce the winners of the Kent Grassroots Football Awards!

Kent FA Grassroots Football Awards Winners Announced for 2019!

After receiving over 150 nominations from across the county, Kent FA is delighted to announce this year’s winners of the FA Grassroots Football Awards!

Kent FA Grassroots Match Official of the Year – Michael Butcher
Michael was described as a very determined referee and a shining example to other match officials in the county! Well done Michael!

Kent FA Grassroots Rising Star of the Year – Alex Faulkner, Yalding & Laddingford FC
Alex was described as despite having his playing set back by injury, this fuelled his desire to coach and become a role model to younger players!

Kent FA Grassroots Supporter of the Year – Gary Willison, Farnborough Old Boys Guild FC
Gary has been described as being there come rain or shine every weekend to help set up for match days, despite not being part of the formal structure of the club!

Kent FA Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year – Steve Revell, Betteshanger Welfare FC
Steve has been described as a hardworking and relentless person, who hardly stands still!

Kent FA Grassroots Project of the Year – Anthony Deer Football Academy
The Anthony Deer Football Academy is a Kent FA Licensed Football Provider, and has been described as having nothing but a positive impact on grassroots football for children of all ages who take part at the ADFA.

Kent FA We Only Do Positive Respect Award – Alex Burgess
Alex has been described as going above and beyond his role as a referee, even challenging adult behaviour on the sidelines when it is not appropriate at youth football matches.

Kent FA Grassroots Volunteer of the Year – Tony Ling
Tony was described as having an unparelled commitment to football, being the heart and soul of Medway Borough FC and going above and beyond every weekend to ensure his club’s football runs smoothly!
Highly Commended Volunteer of the Year – Jorge Gill, Greenways Aces FC
Highly Commended Volunteer of the Year – Jindi Banwait, Punjab United FC

Kent FA Grassroots League of the Year – Kent Disability Football League
The KDFL was described as providing inclusivity, celebrating differences and creating opportunities!

Kent FA Grassroots Club of the Year – Medway United FC
Medway United FC was described as having a wonderful family feel; a club who provides multiple opportunities and help build the confidence in their players of all ages!
Highly Commended – New Road FC

Kent FA Coach of the Year – Robert Barrett, South East Gulls FC
Robert was nominated because along with being an inspiring coach, giving up his personal time to support his team to achieve throughout the season, he has grown personally over the 10 years he has been with the team, not allowing any personal challenges get in his way!
Highly Commended Coach of the Year – Emma Tune, Tune In2 Futsal
Highly Commended Coach of the Year – James Collins, Wigmore Youth FC Whippets

Congratulations to all of our fantastic winners across Kent! We’re looking forward to seeing you at our awards evening.