Kent Intermediate Cup Final 2019

Rusthall Lift Intermediate Cup Silverware!

By Matt Dixon
Lydd Town FC 0 - 2 Rusthall FC

Rusthall FC Lift the Intermediate Cup Silverware! 

Lydd Town FC 0 - 2 Rusthall FC

A goal in each half earned Rusthall Reserves a 2-0 victory over Lydd Town Reserves in the Intermediate Cup Final at K Sports on Wednesday night.

The victory capped a great couple of days for the Club having secured runners-up spot in the League and lifted the Tunbridge Wells Charity Cup at the weekend added the Intermediate Cup to the season honours.

Lydd suffered an early blow when Sam Lancaster was forced off through Injury and the opening goal followed on the 20 minute mark, Lynos Rwodzi’s driven corner caught the Lydd goalkeeper unsighted and the ball bounced off him into the net. A game of few chances saw defences dominate proceedings for large periods of the game and it was Rusthall who took a one goal advantage into the halftime interval.

The second half followed a similar pattern with livewire Rwodzi looking dangerous down the flank and causing the Lydd defence trouble on more than once occasion. It was no surprise that Rwodzi was heavily involved in his side’s crucial second goal, Ryan Hinkson burst down the left flank and his cross was met by a combination of Rwodzi and a Lydd defender with the latter seemingly getting the final touch. Lydd then lost both Bailey Pearson & Chris Button through Injury which would’ve had their Management team thinking it just wasn’t going to be their night. This proved the case as Rusthall defended well to see out the remainder of the match and secure yet more silverware for the Trophy Cabinet.

In the end it was Lynos Rwodzi who proved the difference between the two teams and he was rightly named Player of the Match and it was left to Birthday boy Kane Ramsell to lift the Trophy.

Lydd Town FC – Ben Mackenzie, Chris Button, Reece Gordon, Shane Holding, Jack Morison, Ryan Easter, Sam Lancaster, Tom Morgans, James Smith, Casey Williams, Bailey Pearson.

Subs – Connor Buss, Kaii Harris, John Williams, Mark Read, Ellis Nelson.

Rusthall FC – Jake Cornish, Michael Tubb, Ryan Hinkson, George Salter, Josh Fermor, Craig Gallie, Lynos Rwodzi, Kane Ramsell, Franck Ndouga, Adam James, Jack Rusbridge.

Subs – Callum Strachan, Theo Cunningham, Sam Stevens, Jack Moor, Arnel Maga.

Referee – Michael Butcher
Assistant Referees – Alan Escudier & Chandon Chapman
Fourth Official – Howard Collins