U13 Girls Final 2020

Report - U13 Girls Cup Final

Long Lane Junior FC 4-0 Maidstone FC

Three first-half goals for Long Lane Junior FC saw them beat Maidstone FC 4-0 to win the Under-13 Kent Girls Youth Cup. 

Long Lane started brightly and Kiera Syms opened the scoring on seven minutes as she drifted in from the right, found space in the box and poked into the bottom corner.

Maidstone edged back into the game and Jessica Brislee’s shot from outside the area, forcing a good save from Long Lane 'keeper Sariah Armah.

Long Lane doubled their lead after 18 minutes. Ruby Wignall ran down the left wing, played in Florence Pearson whose driving shot went under Maidstone 'keeper Natalie Stocker.

Long Lane continued to attack and their third came minutes later as Ruby Smith shot from 20 yards out, which Stocker parried to forward Lexie Barton, who followed in well and passed into the bottom corner.

Maidstone struggled to get out of their half at the beginning of the second half as swirling wind played havoc with their clearances and passes.

With 15 minutes remaining, Long Lane extended their lead to four as the wind got hold of Barton’s looping ball into the box which evaded Stocker and bounced over the line. 

Maidstone went close in the final minutes. Hattie Parks ran on to a long ball but her shot just went wide of the near post.

Parks then had the final chance of the game. With seconds left as she drove into the area and her shot was heading for the top corner, but substitute goalkeeper Libby Ellis saved well. 

Maidstone United FC
Natalie Stocker, Katie Allen, Madison Restarick, Hattie Parks, Jessica Brislee, Kessia Haines, Lauren Quinell, Amy Lancley, Kallie Restarick.

Substitutes: Tori Watson, Leah Gardener, Diya Latif, Charlotte Codd, Frances Patrick.

Long Lane Junior FC
Sariah Armah, Evie Cammiss, Libby Beecham, Kiera Syms, Ruby Windsor, Florence Pearson, Neve Morgan, Ruby Wignall, Ruby Smith.

Substitutes: Libby Ellis, Layla Crouch-Salmon, Lexie Barton


Referee: Louise Rider

Assistant Referee: Grace Phillips-James

Assistant Referee: Daisy Taylor

Fourth Official: Natasha Carroll