Kent FA Grassroots Awards ceremony

Kent FA Workforce Awards 2022 Winners Announced

The 12 winners were announced at an event at Ashford International Hotel on Thursday 29th September.

This year, we received 172 nominations across 12 award categories, recognising the wonderful volunteers from all areas of the game in Kent. All those that were shortlisted in their categories, were invited to attend the awards' service.

We also welcomed Kent FA partners; DFDS, The Merit Group, Sleeping Giant Media, My Club Pro, Technical Surfaces, BAE Systems; and Kent FA Board and Council members.

The awards celebrate those people who make a positive difference in our football community. It's our way of thanking the fantastic individuals who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across Kent – our incredible volunteers inspire us all.

We announced our local winners for The FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards, the winners of The Colin Boswell Young Referee of The Year award, Digital Club of the Year award presented by Sleeping Giant and the lifetime services awards.

Our fantastic winners are:

The FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards

Coach of The Year (Adult) - Jessica Bennett from Larkfield FC
Coach of The Year (Youth) - Luke Gibbons from New Ash Green JFC
Grassroots Club of The Year – Larkfield FC
Grassroots League of the Year – Kent Disability Football League
Grassroots Volunteer of The Year – Ant Tomlinson, Cranbrook Juniors FC
Rising Star of the Year – Sam Jones
Grassroots Grounds Team of The Year – Alan Philpott, Woodnesborough FC
Grassroots Project of the Year – Anchorians FC
Grassroots Match Official of the Year – Rashpal Shergill (*Highly commended – Harley Webster)
The Spirit of Football Award – Thanet Leg-Ends

The Colin Boswell Young Referee of the Year Award

Charlie Sutton

Digital Club of the Year, sponsored by Sleeping Giant Media

Faversham Strikeforce FC

Long & Meritorious Service Award

Colin Hall

40 Years Dedicated Service Award

Keith McGinn

The FA 50 Years Service Award

Tony Newington

Kent FA CEO, Darryl Haden, said: "Last night was an incredible celebratory evening. Congratulations to all our fantastic award winners and to everyone who received a nomination this year. Equally, we want to thank all the individuals who gave their time to nominate individuals from their clubs and leagues. Without these nominations, we simply wouldn't have a platform to celebrate all the incredible achievements of our local grassroots volunteers, so behalf of everyone at Kent FA, thank you. We look forward to hosting the event next year."

Congratulations to all our winners from everybody at Kent FA!

Watch the highlights of the evening below.