Safeguarding

Safeguarding and Welfare

Kent FA is committed to its responsibilities to safeguarding the welfare of all young people involved in grassroots football

We fully support and appreciate our team of dedicated volunteer Club and League Welfare Officers working towards maintaining a safe and fun environment for young people who play, train, referee and coach.

We strongly believe in ‘listening to children and young people’ and that their views are really important.

Kent FA Safeguarding Verifiers

Name  Email District Adult Clubs Youth Clubs
Alan Clarke chair.dtr@gmail.com Dover Yes Yes
Alan Escudier aescudier@bryen-langley.com Bexley Yes Yes
Caroline Richards carolineBryan100@aol.com Canterbury Yes Yes
Catja Morris catjamorris@outlook.com Folkstone & Hythe Yes Yes
Claire Whybrew claire.whybrew@kentfa.com Maidstone Yes Yes
Colin Whitfield colin.whitfield78@gmail.com Maidstone Yes Yes
Harry Burgess harry.burgess@kentfa.com Maidstone Yes Yes
Jack Jacobs jack.jacobs@kentfa.com Folkstone & Hythe Yes Yes
Jonathan Ricketts jonny.ricketts@kentfa.com Tonbridge Yes Yes
Kellie Discipline kelliediscipline@outlook.com Dartford Yes Yes
Laura Hawkins laura.hawkins@kentfa.com Medway Yes Yes
Lucy Kidd lucy.kidd@kentfa.com Maidstone Yes Yes
Mark Bright mark.bright@kentfa.com Maidstone Yes Yes
Matthew Dixon matthew.dixon@kentfa.com Thanet Yes Yes
Michael Gavin gavinml@sky.com Swale & Canterbury Yes Yes
Nancy Cooke ncookestar@gmail.com Ashford Yes Yes
Natalie Curtis natalie.curtis@kentfa.com Swale Yes Yes
Nick Dunn (Referees Only) nick.dunn@kentfa.com Dover No No
Ricky Adams rickyadams777@hotmail.com Medway Yes Yes
Robert Preedy rp.ref@ntlworld.com Bromley Yes Yes
Toby Elgar  toby.elgar@kentfa.com Canterbury Yes Yes
Vicki Marsden vicki.mmyl@gmail.com Medway Yes Yes

 Get In Touch

Lucy Kidd - Designated Safeguarding Officer

By Phone: 01622 934044
(9am - 5pm Monday - Friday)

By Email: safeguarding@kentfa.com

If a child is in immediate danger, please contact the police.

For guidance related to a safeguarding concern outside of office hours, please email safeguarding@kentfa.com or call NSPCC 24/7 on 0808 800 5000.

DISCLOSURE BARRING SERVICE CHECKS

If you are a club based coach in need of a DBS check (previously known as CRC), please contact your Club Welfare Officer who will be able to support you through this process.

If you are a Club Welfare Officer seeking support with Casework or DBS' please contact Lucy directly.

If you are a Referee seeking support with a DBS please contact our Referee Development Officer, Nick Dunn directly.

 

Don't hesitate

Don't Hesitate, Escalate!

Important safeguarding guidance and information!
FA Safeguarding Workshop

Safeguarding Policies 

Safeguarding Policies and Reporting Concerns
Parent and Carer Guidance

Social Media Guidance

Guidance for Social Media
Safeguarding Adults

Safeguarding in Open Age Adult Football

Keeping everybody safe in grassroots football.
Goal net

Best practice and guidance

This is a link to the full FA library for safeguarding guidance

Online Safeguarding Courses

Coaches and volunteers involved in youth (under-18 and below) football in Kent can also access a number of online courses.

To enrol on these courses, please click on the links below.

Note: the FA Safeguarding for Committee Members course MUST be completed in order for clubs to affiliate.

FA Safeguarding for Committee Members

FA Introduction to Safeguarding - For Under-16s

FA Guide to Safeguarding Adults

FA Safeguarding Online Recertification

FA Safeguarding Adults Online Course

The FA Safeguarding Adults Online Course brings to life The FA’s ‘Safeguarding Adults’ policy and describes how it can be implemented in adult open-age disability football. 

This course is for anyone who works in or volunteers in adult open-age disability football. That includes coaches, managers, Welfare Officers as well as club officials.

Related Articles

View All